Katipunan’s Mission

Katipunan, Filipino-American Association of Maryland, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization committed to developing social and educational programs that promote Filipino culture in Maryland as well as provide philanthropic opportunities to support charitable causes in both our state and in our homeland.

Katipunan Receives Maryland Humanities Grant

Katipunan is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year! To celebrate our role as a catalyst for bringing together Filipino Americans in Maryland, and sharing our rich culture to the general public, we received a $10,000 grant from the Maryland Humanities.

The project, “Locating Filipino Americans in Maryland: Our Immigrant Journeys”, documents our multifaceted experiences as a people who left our motherland to settle here. Their letter states, “Your project was selected as one of our grant recipients out of a highly competitive field of applicants.”

Book conversations, personal interviews, a storytelling forum, an art exhibit, author Elaine Castillo’s visit, and a book launch are activities that will take place this year. We would like to encourage you, your family, and friends to participate in these exciting events. Everyone is welcome!

For more information, please email Mary Anne Akers (maryanne.akers@morgan.edu).

The link to the grant announcement is:



"This project was made possible by a grant from Maryland Humanities, through support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Maryland Historical Trust and the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities, Maryland Humanities, Maryland Historical Trust, or the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation."

Executive Officers

Genevieve Vallar Sanders

Delia Sabundayo
Vice President of Cultural Affairs

Maribel Magno
Vice President of Charitable Affairs

Josie Thompson
Vice President of Social Affairs

Linda Jacobo

Ben Thompson

Eliza Romero
Public Relations Officer

Maria Johnson
Sergeant at Arms

Polly Caragay
Corresponding Secretary

Maria Ruiz Zaneski
Recording Secretary

Emma Real
Immediate Past President

Board of Directors

Betsy Tolentino

Joe Adia
Vice Chair

Mary Anne Akers, Ph.D.

Gerry Florendo

Toni Grandea, M.D.

Ching Jacobo

Tita Kenney

Lilia Mamaril-Ku

Jay Penafiel, M.D.

Jerica Meyers

Jennifer Maraña

Aimée Real-Robinson

Bing Slodzinski